My “Get Dressed” Formula: Summer Edition

16 Aug

I have what amounts to a uniform that I wear to work on a daily basis. Some might call it boring, but I’m a marketing professional, so I call it an easy way to get dressed with a minimum of fuss. I work in a casual office (software industry FTW!) so my standard formula is jeans + cute tank or t-shirt + cardigan or blazer.

My summer uniform also follows this formula, but I usually wear brighter colors and throw in some linen when it’s hot, because what says summer like breezy linen, am I right? Here is a snapshot of what I wore to work today:

(Apparently I need to take outfit photos at some time other than I took this one, when the sun was blasting through my bathroom window LIKE WHOA.)

Anyway, I’m a huge fan of mixing higher-end stuff with cheapies, because I often will spend a little more on items like blazers that I wear all the time. This blazer came from Nordstrom and I wear it at least once a week. Also, you can’t see it in this photo, but my t-shirt is a very bright cobalt blue, which is one of my favorite colors right now!

White jeans – Martin & Osa (now defunct, cue sad tears for they are good-fitting and comfortable, and were a TOTAL STEAL)

T-shirt – Gap

Blazer – Gibson linen blazer, available at Nordstrom

Shoes – DV by Dolce Vita “Dixy” sandals

6 Responses to “My “Get Dressed” Formula: Summer Edition”

  1. elleinadspir August 16, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    Love this look. Casual but put together. Perfect.

  2. RA August 16, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    So breezy and summer-y! I love that you wore that bright cobalt.

  3. andreaunplugged August 16, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    I really need to do some jeans/pants shopping and find some skinnier pants. Those look great on you.

  4. Stacey August 16, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    I LOVE it. Very cute!

  5. Buster August 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    I love those jeans! The whole look is great and something that would work in my super-laid back office without being all “oh, hey, did you have a job interview today, because you are all dressed up!” Thanks for the inspiration!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Working Girl Style: Necklaces « Style All Over - August 24, 2012

    […]  It makes you look good, it’s easily interchangeable and it’s versatile.  Ever since Bearca wrote about her work outfit formula, I’ve started thinking about the pieces that I want to […]

Comments are closed.

