Favorite Outfit: Dress to Impress

13 Aug

One of my favorite things about fashion is being able to put together different pieces and make completely new outfits. Accessories are one of the easiest ways to do this. For example, take a look at this dress. I bought it at Talbot’s a few years ago on sale ($75). It came with a black and white belt in the same fabric as the dress. Boring! I swapped it out for this stretchy, red woven belt from Anthropologie ($25). The belt really makes the outfit!

I love this dress because it is cotton, perfect for the summer months, and super flattering to my hourglass-ish figure. I usually pair this with a multi-strand red beaded necklace and small red and gold flower earrings. I’ve worn this dress with a cardigan to work in a business casual setting, out to dinner and on vacation. It is really versatile.

How do you mix up your wardrobe? Do you swap out accessories to make an outfit look different?

5 Responses to “Favorite Outfit: Dress to Impress”

  1. Michelle August 13, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Yes. It is amazing what a change in accessories can do for an outfit. I love the red with this dress. I like to get solid color dresses and make them different with belts, scarves and shoes.

  2. Becky August 13, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    The belt does look great!

  3. RA August 13, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    I looove black, white, and red together. So classic and sharp.

  4. lawyernomore August 13, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Ah! I lost the black wrap-tie-belt deal to a black wrap dress and now I am super inspired to find a fun replacement!

  5. ecbthorman August 14, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    I love the red against that pattern – that pop of color on your waist is so flattering and you’re right, it totally makes the outfit.

Comments are closed.

