My Favorite Outfit: Banana Republic Knit Blazer

10 Aug

When I say that I like comfort, I MEAN I like comfort.  Some people say this and then they wear stretch slacks.  I definitely do not mean to imply that stretch slacks aren’t comfortable, because there is likely a reason that magazines still point them out, aligned neatly in the “Comfort” section.  I’m only saying that to ME, stretch slacks are in the same line of clothing as mohair sweaters and wool cardigans.  And that line is in a little place I like to call: NOT ON YOUR LIFE, Population: ME.

If you’ll allow for a small tangent here, I’ve pretty much always been this way.  As a kid, I wanted stretchy waists and tucked camisoles into my pants at all times so as to be as cotton-covered as possible.  I grew up in the era of acid-washed and thick denim and zippers and bows at those zippers.  No kid wearing flower print pull-on cotton pants was really going to make it into the “cool crowd”.  Fast forward 25 years later and I’m still wearing knit to work while all those cool kids are wearing six inch heels and unlined tweed blazers and wool capris.  By Chloe, no less.

My quest to deliver the most accurate picture of how I REALLY dress for work started with Wednesday’s outfit.  I was hoping to avoid being so realistic, but there you have it.  (Related: Taking pictures of yourself is HARD! You look terrifying! AWKWARD!)

Image

Button Up Shirt: Old Navy

Best Pants Ever: Gap Fit

Purse: Sak, Sunglasses: Gap, Earrings you can barely see: Kate Spade, Flip Flops: Old Navy

No, really.  I wore this to work.  And no one even blinked.

I’d LIKE to be the person who doesn’t wear beach footwear to work, but most days that honestly doesn’t happen.  I’d also like to be the person who doesn’t wear an un-tailored button up shirt that accentuates boobs and tents out from there.  I’m working on these things.

Here is what I wore to work on Thursday, contrasted with what I wore to work last week for an actual important meeting:

Left Image: American Eagle Outfitters Polka Dot Cardigan, Old Navy Tank, Ill-fitting Slacks purchased at a Mystery location (No tag. Don’t worry! You wouldn’t want them anyway based on how terrible they look!)

Right Image: Banana Republic Knit Cardigan, Tahari Blouse, Michael Kors pants, Nine West heels

I realized while taking these pictures that my more “dressy” version is BASICALLY the SAME THING.  With better fit and actual shoes.  LET THIS BE A LESSON TO ME.

If you ALSO love comfortable clothes, may I recommend that blazer?  It’s still for sale and available here.  I like pairing blazers with something more interesting on top- you’ll notice the Tahari blouse I’m wearing in the photo has a bit of ruffle at the neck line and at the hem.  Loft usually has lots of basic ruffle options, like this one.

A side note for ladies (like me) with a bit of extra chest: I’ve started seeking v-neck tops instead of crew necks recently, particularly if the fit is tighter.  My feeling is that the v-neckline creates a more flattering silhouette than the sharp contrast between the clavicles/cup size you’ll sometimes see in a crew or boat neck.  If this sounds like you too, I think even a simple v-neck tee does the job.

Finally, I promise to wear real shoes every day next week if you promise not to judge me too much for needing flip flop rehab.  It’s in the works, folks.  Promise.

6 Responses to “My Favorite Outfit: Banana Republic Knit Blazer”

  1. RA August 10, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Ooh, I have been thinking about a knit blazer for a while now, and that one is LOVELY. Clicking!

  2. MichelleSullivan August 10, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    Because I am a buxom lady, I tend to shy away from blazers but I like the idea of this one. I might need to check it out.

    Also, because of the buxomness, I stick with the V-neck too. The worst for me is scoop neck. I’ve never found one that works.

  3. badgerreader August 10, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I love the blazer. Immediately clicked over to BR to check it out. Too pricey for me to justify, but will keep lookout at the outlet. Definitely need to try it on at store as I am super long-torso’d and sometimes these things lie awkwardly short. Great ideas here and I am so relieved to hear someone else discuss the desire for “cotton-covering”.

    • CharlieSue August 24, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      Cotton Lovers Unite!

  4. Miranda August 10, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    Wait, flip flops aren’t acceptable footwear for work? Interesting…

    Also, is that Sak purse the Silverlake Flap by chance? That’s my favorite go-to everyday purse. I have it in two colors and haven’t found another I like nearly as much. LOVE.

    • CharlieSue August 24, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

      I WANT to believe that flip flops are acceptable for work. My director says otherwise, snarkily, as though she DOESN’T CARE, but I think she DOES.

      The bag is the Sak Abalone Leather Satchel, which I say tearfully because it does not exist anymore! But! YOU just found me a similar option! The Silverlake! THANK YOU!

Comments are closed.

