My Favorite Outfit: Patterned Dress

7 Aug

No one is more shocked than I am when I tell you that my current favorite outfit is a dress.  It’s not that I’m not a dress person it’s just that…well…I guess I’m not a dress person.  That is, until this dress came along.  My current favorite outfit is this patterned dress by Danny & Nicole.

I can’t find it anywhere online, but I bought the dress at Belk, ye olde department store, while I was looking for something to wear to a baby shower. I love so many things about this dress.  I love the graphic brush stroke pattern, the sleeves, the hem length, the colors, the cowl neck…should I go on?  Basically I love everything about it.

When you take my fairly conservative style and combine it with my not so great post-baby body image, it leaves a pretty small window for finding clothes lately.  This dress actually makes me feel good.  That’s the #1 style rule, right?

There are a lot of great patterned dresses out there in all different  price ranges.  I’m sort of partial to this NY Collection Dress and this Tommy Hilfiger one.  These from Gap and Banana Republic are a little different in style, but pretty much the same idea.  The options are endless!

My shoes are from Gap Outlet and are really tall but also really comfortable.  I’ve had them a long time, but there are tons of different black wedge options out there, as high or as low as you’d like.  I like these Vierra Espadrilles from Banana Republic and I’m so into these Indigo Wedges by Ralph Lauren that I just ordered them for myself.  I’ll let you know how it works out.

I’ve been slacking on accessories lately since I have a 9 month old who just wants to rip everything off me, but I’m wearing a pair of gold hoop earrings with this dress.  This is pretty much the only thing I own that I wear gold with.  It may be wrong, but it just feels right.  And I guess I should probably wear a necklace…shouldn’t I?  Does cowl neck mean necklace or no necklace?  You tell me.

5 Responses to “My Favorite Outfit: Patterned Dress”

  1. Becky August 7, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    I have never heard of Belk before.

    I love the dress. Very flattering!

  2. styleallover August 7, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    I wonder if a necklace like the one in this picture might work; http://www.typef.com/article/keep-silver-necklace-tarnishing/

    I think I would probably wear a couple of bracelets. Babies can’t do too much damage to bracelets.

  3. mesullivan26 August 7, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    Love this dress. I am a dress person and this looks great. I wonder what a wide belt would do to the look. I’ve recently learned to love belts and how they can transform an outfit.

  4. Stacey August 8, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    Oooh, a wide belt would be cute! I like it this way too though!

  5. RA August 10, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    Yes, a belt! It’s like Instant Waist magic.

Comments are closed.

