How I Do Chambray

26 Oct

I had a hard time figuring out how to make chambray work for me in the typical button-down fashion. In the meantime, I would pine after outfits like this one from Gap:

So cute! As Heidi Klum would say on Project Runway, I would totally wear that. Despite my hatred of collars and having to tuck in button-downs constantly, I went on the hunt for a chambray shirt like this, but it was fruitless. The biggest problem was my ginormous shoulders. I don’t know what it is, but a top will fit me everywhere else except across the shoulders, where it’s so tight that the seams strain and the sleeves were like sausage casing. I felt like The Incredible Hulk, and not finding a shirt because of my shoulders made me so frustrated!

HULK SAD.

Then I started thinking outside the button-down box and picked up these 2 items, now unfortunately out of stock at Old Navy:

I don’t know why, but a shirt dress works for me. Maybe it’s because I don’t have to tuck it in? I should disclose that I bought this in a size up but in petite length. And then, a tunic! No collar, plus the expectation to wear it untucked! I could still cuff my sleeves in a cute way and layer under a sweater, right?

Here are my favorite ways I’ve worn these items, so far:

Old Navy chambray dress, Orla Kiely orange scarf, Target gray tights, Enzo Angiolini boots (via Piperlime)

Old Navy chambray tunic, LOFT striped cardigan, Anthropologie gold belt, Gap turquoise Always Skinny jeans, Target black ruffle flats

I love the dress unequivocally, and I feel like it fits into my wardrobe with no extra thought on my part. Did I mention that it has pockets? Oh, yes, it does. I think I have to be careful when I wear it with boots, though, because it borders on rodeo. The tunic, on the other hand, is not as easy. I have concluded that I like it belted best because it’s a little big in the midsection, but the sleeves do look nice cuffed and uncuffed. It’ll just take some time for me to figure it out, you know? I am pretty happy with that most recent look, though; I think it’s pretty darn similar to that Gap look.

HULK HAPPY!

One Response to “How I Do Chambray”

  1. Audrey October 26, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Tunics are hard for me, because I feel like they have a very tent/trash-baggy look on me, which is not super flattering. And every time I try on something with a belt like in your second picture, I hate the way it makes me look. All this to say that I am both impressed with and a bit envious of your ability to pull off the tunic so well.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

