Planning ahead

24 Oct

I think there are several outfits that you need to have planned out at all times. Outfits you can pull from your closet at any time. One that you don’t have to think to much about.

  • Something to wear to a funeral. This isn’t the time to be trying on a million things and stressing out about what to wear.
  • Dinner with your boss. Something nice, but not too too nice. Something that fits you well, is not too revealing and that you feel confident wearing.
  • Date night. Especially if you are single. What if a last minute date option comes up? Do you want to be standing in front of the mirror not knowing what to wear and getting frustrated?
  • Interview/important meeting. This realistically can be a version of your funeral outfit. A good black suit and/or dress takes you far in life.

What did I miss?

As for my outfits…

I have a black sleeveless dress. This is my funeral dress that can double as a meeting dress if needed. My black suit doesn’t fit me anymore and I get hives just thinking about it. I need to replace it. I need one in my closet.  I do have black pants that fit me well and several classic black sweaters. In a pinch these would do. As for the dinner with your boss…black pants paired with a black or cream sweater and a bold necklace works well. I need less black don’t I? Date night for me is jeans and heels. I try and have a few go to tops in my head for each season. Coming into Fall and Winter I have la few long sleeve silk blouses that will be in the rotation.

I think you should always be looking for classic pieces. I found my dress on sale when I wasn’t even looking. Mine is not J Crew, but this is a great example.

My suit was J Crew and when I replace it, I will probably buy the same. I like the fit and the quality.

This Zara silk blouse would be amazing with dark skinnies and heels.

3 Responses to “Planning ahead”

  1. K October 24, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    I LOVE this post and you are totally right about having outfits slotted out in advance–just in case. I would also add a Wedding (not your own) Outfit to your list.

    I find going-to-wedding outfits hard because I want to look more fun than I do at work yet I’m not comfortable enough to bust out sequins. Is a tricky balance (at least for me).

    • elleinadspir October 24, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Wedding is a great one to add!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All planned out… | Elleinad Spir - October 24, 2012

    [...] on the ready? I have a few outfits for certain occasions planned out. Come check out my list at Style All Over. And this amazing Zara blouse [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

