My Favorite Outfit: Purple Pleats

17 Aug

When I think about my favorite outfit, I immediately picture my favorite skirt:

This purple skirt has cool asymmetrical pleating and your favorite and mine: POCKETS! I bought this about 2 years ago from the sale section at my local Anthropologie (Tabitha brand), and a large part of its charm is that I got it for $20 when it was originally $98 (?!). The fabric is a sort of woven cotton, so it works in all seasons. I love that I can wear it with flats, heels, sandals, and with tights and boots for cooler weather. I’ve worn this skirt to work, church, special occasions — really, any time I can manage. I just love it so much. Now seems to be a good time to buy bright skirts, and here are 2 options in purple:


LOFT: $59.50 | Old Navy: $27.50

This time, I wore it with a hot pink top with a pleated neckline from LOFT, which is coming across a little orange/coral here. In the past, I have worn black or gray with this skirt, but I was really surprised by how much I liked the pairing. Everyone at my office commented about how happy I looked, so I think the lesson here is not to shy away from bold color combinations because people just might interpret them as happy, not weird. And here are 2 pink tops (both on sale!) that I think are cute:


Banana Republic: $34.99 | Anthropologie: $29.95

I added my Target leopard flats for a little pattern, plus a gray acrylic necklace that I got on super clearance from J. Crew. The necklace is kind of like this one, except not black and not $225, holy crap. My white resin watch is from Fossil, via Amazon, and I love it deeply. I thought I would just wear it in the summer, but it seems to go with and lighten up everything, so I don’t think I’ll switch over to my stainless steel watch any time soon.

This is a pretty typical work outfit for me (skirt, top, flats, and necklace/scarf), and it makes me feel put-together but not boring. I honestly look for any excuse to wear this purple skirt, so I’m really glad I can wear it to the office.

4 Responses to “My Favorite Outfit: Purple Pleats”

  1. hillarycopsey August 17, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    I have that pink top from Anthro and love it, though the neckline is asymmetrical and not every bra works with it.

    Love your purple skirt!

    • RA August 17, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      Good to know!

  2. Becky August 17, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Love! And I have decided I really need leopard print shoes.

    • hillarycopsey August 17, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      You do! My pair became my favorite shoes. I actually think that might be my next post. They’re like a neutral.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

