Simple – Silver – Summer

15 Aug

Hmmm. . .which favorite outfit to showcase for my inaugural post?  I decided to go with my favorite thing to wear for a weekend outing this summer, which sort of encapsulates my sense of style and includes many current favorite pieces.  (Keep in mind most places I go on the weekend are during daylight hours and also this is Colorado – home of the casual dresser.)  I shall call it my “what a mom of a one year old wears on the weekends in the summer.”  I should totally be a fashion blogger, I know.

Also, here is my obligatory “It’s really hard to take self-pics of a whole outfit!” because IT IS.  So I tried another mirror in another room, to darker results, but there you have it.

So.  Here are a few of my favorite things about this outfit.  We’ll go from the bottom up.

I love these flip-flops.  They have made my summer.  They are silver (I also have them in gold and black), they are comfortable, they are versatile, they have held up really well, and they were $9.99 at Payless (ooh – now they are $6!).

You complete me, silver American Eagle flip flops.

My shorts are an example of my own personal hypocrisy as I swore on all that was holy somewhere around 1992 that I would never again wear denim shorts.  Alas, Loft changed my tune this summer.  I love the fit and cut of these shorts, and they are lightweight but still denim.  And they were on clearance.  However, I can’t find a link online anymore.  I also have a pair of chambray/linen side-zip shorts from Loft (also clearance, what what!) that are a little. . .dressier?  Can jorts be dressy?  I do not know!!

The tank is another favorite from this summer.  Target never fails, friends.  This is the Merona Perfect Tank that I think I picked up in white, black, green. . .and a white and blue print that I still have yet to wear.  So I guess Target can fail after all.  Nevertheless, as a person who has always been self-conscious about my indelicate broad shoulders, this seems to hit at just the right spot and have the right amount of width in the straps to balance me out, yet it still looks feminine with the ruffly edges.

I have never received more compliments on any item I’ve ever worn than this necklace.  It is silver, with shiny, multi-tonal stones on it and it goes with most of the items in my wardrobe.  I think it’s just the right thing to add interest to this otherwise ordinary outfit, but I also wear it with dressier outfits to work.  It, too, hails from Payless.  I picked it up in the summer of 2010 when we lived in Chicago, during BoGo when I couldn’t find another pair of shoes I liked.  I love you, Payless necklace.

Clearly, the rest of my summer weekend style involves ponytails, bags under my eyes, and minimal make up.  Also, usually sunglasses and a cardigan because it’s always cold in the a/c!

And there you have it – summer mom weekend style from Colorado!

5 Responses to “Simple – Silver – Summer”

  1. audrey August 15, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    I appreciate that you’re wearing flip flops, like a true Coloradoan. Well done!

    Love this whole look on you. It looks very comfy and very classy all at once.

  2. Becky August 15, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    “Can jorts be dressy? I don’t know!” is my favorite part of this.

    • RA August 16, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      YES, AGREE. The word “jorts” kind of jolts me, but I like it!

  3. myshoesconfess August 15, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Love your silver flip flops, simple yet elegant :)

  4. andreaunplugged August 16, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    The word jorts gets me every time. Yours, however, don’t appear to fall into my normal categorization of jorts so you get a pass from me. My idea of jorts are more of a tight, faded, knee-length, scraggly bottomed man short.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

