Mad for Polka Dots

14 Aug

I have to admit when I told a couple of coworkers I was going to be writing for a fashion blog, they looked down at my ragged, saggy mom-jeans and flip-flops and snort-laughed.

I used to be a practicing attorney and though my firm was more casual than some, it was still on the dressy end of the spectrum, with suits, twinsets, and pantyhose being de rigueur.

My job situation has changed drastically and now I work in research at a place where everyone asks you why you’re so dressed up if you wear a polo shirt.

This incredibly laid-back atmosphere, combined with the fact that I am still rather plump and squashy after having my daughter (ahem, 9 months ago), creates my biggest fashion battle: frump.

I won’t show you my actual “favorite” work outfit: the one pair of jeans that fits (badly), flip-flops, and a blousy long-sleeved t-shirt. I’ll save that as the before in a before-and-after post someday.

Instead, this is my favorite dress.

Photobomb from my daughter.

I love how it feels a little Mad Men and the way it swirls around my legs when I walk. And the polka dots, oh, how I love them. I’ve worn it to Christmas parties, church on Easter Sunday, dates with my husband, and a job interview with a black blazer tossed over it. And, bonus, it was a dirt cheap $45 at JCPenney.

While this particular dress is no longer available, here are some similar styles:

ImageImageImage

5 Responses to “Mad for Polka Dots”

  1. RA August 14, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    I love dresses for work. One piece and done!

  2. audrey August 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I LOVE the last dress. And it looks to be on clearance for $30. Soooo tempting!

    p.s. You look great in your polka dots!

  3. N August 14, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    LOVE those dresses! Polka dots are so timeless and feminine.

  4. Grace August 14, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Adorable dress! You rock it

  5. Elizabeth August 14, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I’d like to point out that ALL of us here at work dress poorly. I mean ‘poorly’ pretty literally. :(

    Frankly, I consider looking ‘clean’ to be an achievable goal for which I aim. And sometimes miss. But still, at least I’m aiming for something, right?!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

